top of page

MLK Day: Not a Day Off, but a Day On


On January 15, MLK Day, 27 middle school students, 4 high school students, and three very excited youth ministers gathered to reflect on Martin Luther King Jr's legacy. Our youth learned about segregation, the women featured in the film, "Hidden Figures" who overcame racial and gender barriers in their work with NASA, and learned about supporting each other's hopes and dreams!

One of the activities was to write your own "I Have a Dream" speech. Here is one example:

I Have a Dream

I have a dream...

that I can live to my potential,

that my family is happy,

that my friends are happy.

Oh, I have a dream...

that all children have education and don't live in poverty,

that grownups all have jobs,

that people will start making a difference.

Oh, I have a dream...

that people will find peace with each other,

that people will learn to value life,

that there will be peace.

Oh, I have a dream.

This was truly a day to remember and to be inspired to go out and work for justice.

To see how some of the high school students spent their day, check out this link!

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page